Team Elite MMA Fighter Damon Eugene Minor Elite Sports


Well I grew up poor my dad left my mom before I was born. My mom had to work 3 server jobs just to pay rent. I was born in Phoenix Arizona. We moved a lot because sometimes tips weren't good so we couldn't afford to pay rent. Because I grew up on the street with no supervision I got into some trouble as a kid. Luckily marital arts were there to help me channel my energy in a positive way. Unfortunately, it was hard to pay gym fees so it was off and on until was older. I had been powerlifting and doing Scottish highland games my heritage is Apache Scottish and German. The town that I lived in only had one BJJ school. When I found out I was extremely excited! Even though it was expensive I made in happen. It was a NU academy and they were legit, when I started I was 255 lbs. I had my blue belt and had a few golds when I decided to take my first MMA fight. It was in Galveston right by the beach. I beat the guy in about a minute with a little ground and pound with a RNC. I love Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and will continue to do it for the rest of my life. As for MMA I hold two light heavyweight titles but feel like I could accomplish more. My biggest MMA fight was for Belator I took it on short notice and won. It was amazing to fight at the Toyota center with legends like Royce Gracie and Ken Shamrock.


Q&A Session Between Damon Eugene Minor and Elite Sports

Question: What inspires you about BJJ? MMA?

Answer: BJJ inspires me because it changes people’s lives. MMA inspires me because it's as real as it gets. We are modern day gladiators.

Question: Who inspires you, past or present? Why do they inspire you?

Answer: Goku selflessness, courage, love for all living things.

Question: What are your goals for this year? Next 3 years? Next 5 years?

Answer: This year Texas submission hunter maybe a Fight to win pro super fight. 3 years get as many belts as possible. 5 years open a gym where low income kids can train for free as long as they get good grades.

Question: How long have you been training?

Answer: Been training straight for 7 years with some before off and on.

Question: How often do you train?

Answer: 3 times a day.

Question: Any major accomplishments you’ve been able to achieve in that time?

Answer: 2x Naga champ 2x new breed champ SCC MMA light heavyweight champ GP MMA light heavyweight champ undefeated in pro super fights all win by submission.

Question: Do you have a go-to finishing move?

Answer: kimura but I like lappel chokes as well.

Question: What do you think it takes to be a champion in your sports?

Answer: Extreme dedication, healthy living, and great coaches and teammates.

Question: What sort of gear do you usually keep in your gym bag before hitting the gym? Do you have different items for specific days?

Answer: GI shin Guards gloves mouth piece jug of wetter.