Team Elite MMA Joshua Martinez Elite Sports

Joshua Martinez


Full Name Joshua Martinez
Class Featherweight
Weight 145 lbs
Height 5'11"
Association MMAGOLD


I was born in Hayward, California didn't necessarily grow up in one particular spot as i kind of moved an lived all over the place from the city to the country. Most the years i do remember were the struggling ones living in Stockton for my teens where i had seen an experienced a lot of bad things and in order to have a better life me an my family moved to the Sacramento area. During those times i had always loved fighting, but never really sunk in my head or occurred that i would pursue a career in fighting. After high school I started college wanting to be a firefighter then switched to a RN, however, I've always played sports growing up an was an athletic kid. An being around a lot of fighting growing up particularly in Stockton as well as seeing the MMA sport grow i really wanted to try to make something of myself doing something i love doing so dropped everything an dove head first into the mixed martial art world an haven't regretted it in the slightest.

Q&A Session Between Joshua Martinez and Elite Sports

Question: What inspires you about BJJ? MMA?

Answer: Being able to challenge myself everyday an push myself beyond my limits seeing what im capable of because there is so much in MMA that it takes years an years to master even one practice yet im trying to learn many of them .

Question: Who inspires you, past or present? Why do they inspire you?

Answer: My mother inspires me as she was always a single parent raising me and my other siblings trying to make sure we had everything we needed as she put herself last trying to do good for us even in the hardest of times, but always managed to shine the light on us

Question: What are your goals for this year? Next 3 years? Next 5 years?

Answer: This year is to certainly win all my fights gain as much knowledge as i possibly can an strive to get better. 3 years deffinitely be a proffesional fighter even before then with a great streak an in 5 hopefully be in a big promotion.

Question: How long have you been training?

Answer: Ive been training for roughly a year and 8 months

Question: How often do you train?

Answer: I train 6 days a week

Question: Any major accomplishments you’ve been able to achieve in that time?

Answer: Yes, won my first fight in the first rd tapout due to strikes. Met a lot of good people an great sponors as well wouldnt be able to make it this far without them

Question: Do you have a go-to finishing move?

Answer: I really like arm triangles

Question: What do you think it takes to be a champion in your sports?

Answer: I believe it takes a really good well rounded fighter that is humble an that can adapt to any given situation that is laid out infront if them

Question: What sort of gear do you usually keep in your gym bag before hitting the gym? Do you have different items for specific days?

Answer: The gear i keep in my gym bag ranges from strength an condition too striking too jiu jutsu. What i have is a lower back support belt for weights, workout gloves, straps, a log to keep track of progress, boxing gloves, MMA gloves, shin guards, mouth guard, foam roller, and about 4 pairs of clothes to change into throughout the whole day. My gym bag is usually the same from day to day.