Juan Adolfo López Correa


Full Name Juan Adolfo López Correa
Class Light-Middleweight
Weight 176 lbs
Rank Brown Belt
Height 5'11"
Association Cicero Costha


He born in nobsa in the state of Boyacá. Un colombia in 1991. Start training martial arts at age of 14 doing capoeira and some judo a couple of times a week. My capoeira friends also likes jiu-jitsu but they don't have good technique at the time because there was no jiu-jitsu in Colômbia. He used to watch Royce Gracie fights and try to do the technique. When he was 19 he got interested in mma. So he start doing some kickboxing and more grappling. He lost his first fight via armbar. After being dominating the fight standing so he decide to look for the best jiu-jitsu he could find in my country. So he move to Bogotá And start training full time. At age of 22 after complete an 2-2 mma record he decide to move to Brazil looking for better training and join Cicero costha team in são Paulo. He learn all the jiu-jitsu he know there. And have the opportunity to train with many world champions. He stay in são Paulo for over two years. Then he go back to Colombia for a few months and open a Cicero costha filiate. Then he move to the states to focus on the bigger competitions.


Q&A Session Between Juan Adolfo López Correa and Elite Sports

Question: What inspires you about BJJ?

Answer: Is an awesome lifestyle that keep me busy and focused, day by day it getting me mentally strong as well

Question: Who inspires you, past or present? Why do they inspire you?

Answer: First I look for the Gracie's and for Demian Maia and días brothers. More mma style jiu-jitsu since my focus was mma.. now I really look out to my training partners. the miyao brothers. Leandro lo. And many of my team mates.

Question: How long have you been training?

Answer: For over 8 years. But real jiu-jitsu i only start counting when I move to Brazil. So 4 years.

Question: What are your goals for this year? Next 3 years? Next 5 years?

Answer: This year get many pódios in the opens as I can. Next 3 years get my blackbelt and be world champion. Next 5 years open my own team.

Question: Any major accomplishments you’ve been able to achieve in that time?

Answer: Colombian champion. Champion of many local tournaments in brazik.

Question: To whom you would like to compliment for your success?

Answer: All of my instructors and team mates who really helped me alot.

Question: How often do you train?

Answer: Every day I can.

Question: Do you have a go-to finishing move?

Answer: I like how and arrow from the back.

Question: What sort of gear do you usually keep in your gym bag before hitting the gym? Do you have different items for specific days

Answer: BJJ Gi and rash guard. Every day.

Question: What do you think it takes to be a champion in your sports?

Answer: Hard work. And believe in your technique.