Arthur "Artie" Grubba


Full Name Arthur Grubba
Nick Name Artie
Class Ultra hwt
Weight 260 lbs
Rank Purple BJJ/Brown Judo
Height 6'
Association Straight Blast Gym/Old School Wrestling


I was born in Illinois, near Chicago. Most of my childhood I lived in Romeoville, where i played soccer, football, basketball, and wrestled. I was bad at all of it except I eventually got good at wrestling through sheer willpower. I wrestled in college, and started MMA and BJJ as something to keep me in shape during wrestling offseasons. After college, I spent a year coaching college wrestling in Kentucky. Shortly after returning home, I met my eventual wife Katie. We married a little more than 4 years after we met, in October 2016. Currently, I am planning on going back to school to become a teacher. BJJ/MMA/wrestling/judo has given me many friends and taken me around the country, I am very excited for the opportunity to be on team Elite.

Q&A Session Between Arthur Grubba and Elite Sports

Question: How often do you train?

Answer: On a typical week, I attend 5 regular practices and an open mat, but that varies depending on outside factors. When available, I take opportunities to train multiple times a day and attend seminars with high level instructors.

Question: What inspires you about BJJ? MMA?

Answer: The struggle of one on one is the purest art form. some of the rules get in the way, but combat is an often-unused expression that I’m glad I can participate in and share.

Question: Any major accomplishments you’ve been able to achieve in that time?

Answer: I’ve won many tournaments including Naga, Grappling Industries, Illinois Judo State, AAU Judo Nationals, US Grappling Smoky Mountain Grappling open and several others. I’ve also placed in USA Sambo Nationals, IBJJF Chicago, Submission Hunt, and others.

Question: Who inspires you, past or present? Why do they inspire you?

Answer: I draw a lot of stylistic inspiration from Kazushi Sakuraba, Gokor Chivichnyan, dean lister, and Chris Haueter. Their specific styles each impact mine and give me ideas when I feel stagnant in my game. I’ve been fortunate enough to train with Chris Haueter and Dean Lister.

Question: What are your goals for this year? Next 3 years? Next 5 years?

Answer: This year I would like to win at least 3 more tournaments. Within 3 years I hope to compete internationally. Within 5 years, I’m not sure yet honestly.

Question: How long have you been training?

Answer: I had been Wrestling since 2000, MMA since 2008, BJJ since 2011, Judo since 2012, Sambo since 2016.

Question: What should we learn from the legends /or from the seniors?

Answer: There guided path allow us to better our game, mental toughness, and more over respect.

Question: Do you have a go-to finishing move?

Answer: In Judo, I hit Harai Makikomi a lot. On the ground, i usually work Kimuras from any angle available.

Question: What do you think it takes to be a champion in your sports?

Answer: It takes a lot of time, effort, and resourcefulness. There no shortcut around any of those 3 in my experience.

Question: What sort of gear do you usually keep in your gym bag before hitting the gym? Do you have different items for specific days?

Answer: I always have water, tape, and Tiger Balm. I also try to keep a knee pad and elbow pad handy, as well as Gis or Rashguards or Gloves for whatever I am training that day.